It’s About Time

IMG_20180312_145638179

There is an Asian supermarket near my house. I am sure I have written about it before.  I go there to grab Japanese candy, (as Heide knows I like so much) samosas, Vietnamese coffee, chocolate milk, lettuce, rye bread, and numerous other things.  I enjoy it because it takes me back to another time in my life.  Also, as it has so many things that I have never seen before, I get the chance to walk around a little wide eyed.

There are a number of things that I am dying to try, but have never bought. Sometimes it is because I know that the price is cheaper somewhere else.  Sometimes it is because I think the price is too high for what I would be getting.  Of course, sometimes it is because I have no idea what the heck it really is.

Today, because I stopped for bread, I decided to buy one of those things I have been looking at. Maybe I was feeling that “it’s about time….” (which is so much fun when I have to teach that to my students)  I have been trying different kinds of ice cream and frozen yoghurt things lately, so this is sort of a continuation of that.

This is available widely, but my Korean students have encouraged me to get it before. I just haven’t because there was never enough room in my freezer, or I felt that I shouldn’t eat so many sweet things.  Also, banana is one tough flavour.  If they get it wrong, it just tastes like horrible chemicals.

I could have chosen another flavour. They had a strawberry kind, a peach kind, and a ….green kind (Thanks to Google, I know that this was melon flavoured)  From those choices, banana is my sure fire winner.  Melon would be my second choice…a distant second choice.

So, happily, I report that it tasted quite good and the banana flavour was quite good and quite strong.  I should also point out that the square shape was not as awkward to consume as I feared, though a little awkward.  From an environmental perspective, it probably ships in a smaller container because of this.

So, to recap, it isn’t the food that is Today’s Perfect Moment. That honour goes to taking a risk and finally getting something I had been planning on for quite a while.  That it tasted good is merely a side bonus.

 

Author: Anthony

I am: equal parts rebel, romantic and shockingly average Joe. a writer trapped inside of an ESL teacher's body. an introverted attention seeker. a teacher who hopes one day to be called "Captain, my Captain." an intellectual who can do some very dumb things. a person whose Japan experience, despite being so long ago, still exerts a strong influence upon him. a lover of books, music, beer, hockey and Pizza.

7 thoughts on “It’s About Time”

  1. I applaud your bravery in trying a banana-flavored beverage, Anthony — you’re so right that they can be awful when they’re the slightest bit wrong. And thank you too for the shout-out. It’s a privilege to have followed along long enough to know your taste in sweets! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started