Lacking Passion

hobby-blog-012

I should start this post explaining that I also write another blog. This blog deals with hobbies–and I have a lot of hobbies.  Lately, though, I haven’t really pursued many of my hobbies.  I also haven’t written that many posts for the site.  I wrote one today that seems to share some of the same aspects as this blog (introspection mostly) and I wanted to write a companion piece for it.  If you are interested in the original post, and I hope that you would be (because I have written some good posts on that site), please check out that post by clicking here, or off to the top right of this blog.

As for the companion to the piece….

I spent some time on Saturday afternoon looking through a packed… cramped… overload…there are just so many adjectives I could use…hobby shop. I enjoyed my time there, but nothing really stoked any interest.  Nothing lit a fire under me at all.  There were so many things I thought were cool, but I easily found a rationale for not buying them or to quickly walk away from them.

On one hand, this is pretty good. I didn’t blow money that I could spend on other things (Christmas, mortgage, food) and I didn’t bring more stuff into my already overloaded hobby room.

On the other hand, this is not how a hobbyist is supposed to behave. A hobbyist is supposed to enjoy the hunt.  A hobbyist is supposed to be looking for things to do and new itches to scratch.  Despite its costs and crowding issues, I do like that I am always pursuing something.  I like feeling passionate about something. anything.  I love reading about it, comparing things, getting excited about it, and chasing it down in stores.  I get rather bummed out when I don’t have something that catches my interest.  It also means that I have nothing to write in that other blog.

Could I be growing old?

 

Author: Anthony

I am: equal parts rebel, romantic and shockingly average Joe. a writer trapped inside of an ESL teacher's body. an introverted attention seeker. a teacher who hopes one day to be called "Captain, my Captain." an intellectual who can do some very dumb things. a person whose Japan experience, despite being so long ago, still exerts a strong influence upon him. a lover of books, music, beer, hockey and Pizza.

13 thoughts on “Lacking Passion”

    1. Under Admin, I selected customized and then chose widgets from that group.
      In my case they were under the primary widget area.
      I selected gallery and inserted the image.
      I actually used three gallery widgets (one for each award) and only titled the first one.

      Before, I had put all the awards in one gallery widget…but that meant that one award was displayed large and the others were small. I like the way this one looks much better.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I am sure you will have the same widgets….but they might be placed in different areas.
        You’re probably going to have lots of awards to display–so think long term.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started